25
Coke Emory Dilworth was born May 13, 1874, in
Gonzales, the son of G.N. Dilworth and Martha Ellen
Huff Dilworth, both natives of Georgia. Coke and his
brother, R.S. Dilworth, were very successful bankers.
The lots where the house stands were once owned
by G.W. Littlefield who built a home on them about
1885. Littlefield sold the property to H.L. Kokernot
in 1892 and Coke bought the lots from Kokernot in
1897. The Littlefield house was sold and moved to
510 St. Michael Street in 1911.
Dilworth employed noted architect, J. Riely Gordon,
to design this Greek Revival style home and it was
completed in 1912. The two-story house features
a full-length L-shaped porch and a second story
balcony. The entrance is a round portico with fluted
Ionic columns matching those along the porch. The
lower windows are arched, with arched shutters, and
the floors are marble inlaid terrazzo and parquet. The
house was constructed of tan brick from St. Louis and
has a red-tile roof made in Germany. The grounds
feature a carriage house, green house, terrace and Koi
pond with a carved Italian stone fountain. The Greek
Revival architecture is reminiscent of river road homes
in Louisiana.
Coke and Leonora sold the house in 1937 to the
Woodward family and moved to Stockdale, Texas.
C.E. DILWORTH
HOUSE
222 St. Peter Street
Photograph by Albrecht Photography
Historical photo circa 1915 courtesy of Gonzales County Archives